The Elusive Great Life

Lately, I’ve been marveling – I suppose even lamenting – over the assumption by many folks that “the good life” is something you must wait for, or perhaps something that comes with qualifications. Such thoughts seem to often coincide with the belief that a great life is something that simply or eventually happens by some twist of events. I would suggest that a great life is something that one builds for himself; something that one puts together in pieces, much like building a wall. And the greatness of that life, again much like the greatness of a wall, is the result of the time and effort one takes to build it. Think about that for a moment, and imagine how many folks trek meander skulk through the years, waiting for a great life to build itself for them. Perhaps they imagine that a brilliant business idea will strike, or great wealth will befall them; perhaps they imagine a beautiful spouse may appear, or their boss will offer a lucrative promotion.

 

And years pass by. Literally, years. This gives me pause.

 

Let’s assume, for the moment, that you’re penniless. Or may we at least assume that the great life hasn’t struck for you? You may have even tried to build the life, but you’ve paused to wait for proper supplies and building materials to arrive. Maybe you’re still waiting for supplies, or maybe you’ve realized that those supplies aren’t coming.

I would ask you to stop at this moment, and look around. What do you see around you? What have you done with the few supplies you do have? Have you built anything yet? For you, will the promotion be the usher for the great life or merely a supplement. 

Do any of you know a builder? You know, somebody who builds houses or something similar. I do, and I’ve noticed something about builders. If you give a builder a weekend, some nails, a hammer, and a pile of lumber, then come back on Monday, and I assure you he will have built… I don’t know, a tree house, or box, or a shelf, or something! He’ll not say that he didn’t want to build anything because he couldn’t build EVERYthing. He’ll see what he could build – what he COULD build – with just what’s in the pile. Then he goes to work, and he builds.

I want to assure you that if you think it’s appropriate to waste years of your life planning for what you’ll do when life begins, then there is no great life coming for you. You see, success has nothing to do with position or wealth; nothing to do with cars or houses; nothing to do with watches or jewelry. Success is about taking whatever you have – anything you have – and building something amazing with it. There’s a fellow I know who is one of the greatest photographers I’ve personally met. This fellow tours all around the US and Europe just taking spectacular pictures of many things. Would you believe that I recently discovered that this fellow with this incredible life earns his living by power washing houses? And he doesn’t work for himself; he’s an hourly employee. The photographer didn’t wait for his promotion, and I would urge you to consider his lead; reflect on his vervacious (like verve, don’t judge me) attitude about building his life without delay; without supplies; without wasting a little time, then years, then a life that could’ve been great if it had only been built. I made up that word “vervacious”, but I’ll let you use it. Maybe put that word on your mirror tonight, and live that word tomorrow. Build your life. Build it broke, single, in debt, in a mud pit, in a tough job, but build it vervaciously.

5 thoughts on “The Elusive Great Life

  1. Yes! You have to know how much this post inspires me, dink! Vervacious. That should be a word, and I’ll try to live vervaciously when I need a break from skulking around. I don’t know about you, but I need to constantly be reminded to live vervaciously, and to follow my dreams, and to keep building the life I want to live, because it’s so easy to skulk your way around this life. You give me some great reminders here about all the things I’m constantly questioning and working on… the definition of success, or the idea of waiting for a certain circumstance to start living, and building the good life with what you have around you. Hey, I’m thinking I might want to reblog this on Lolabees… what do you think??

    Like

    1. Lola, I would be thrilled to have you reblog my little write-up. Also, I’m glad you enjoyed this. You know, over the last year, I’ve been living this vervacious life. The results are remarkable! Ive always lived life well, but in the last year I’ve resigned my job (A company I’ve been with since I was 21) and created a company that has already been a huge success; and I’m speaking beyond monetary. What’s so crazy is that almost everybody said that what I planned to do couldn’t be done. Ah well.
      Listen though, I’ve also written some incendiary stuff recently, so make sure that you are okay with reblogging A crazy guy like myself. Oh, and there’s more to come. Maybe. So there’s that. It’s great to see you around.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Congrats Dink! I’m so amazed that people often expect (sometimes wish) our new adventures to fail. It’s actually pretty sad that the people closest to us (friends/family) have such negative predictions/hopes when we step out of the box and do something courageous and different. They’re ruled by fear, I guess. I did see that one post and noticed you didn’t get any likes. D’oh! I couldn’t like it either. :0 How many followers did you lose? Haha. Maybe I should wait to see what you have coming before I link back to you… 😉

        I’m pretty sure you and I have different opinions on a lot of things, but I can respect that, and we also have been able to find a lot of common ground. I also appreciate that a lot of your writing has opened my mind. I choose not to judge people on 1 thing they say online (unless it’s directed at me, haha,) so I won’t unfollow you because I don’t like something you said. Now I have to go back and revisit this for a re-post! I’m not afraid.

        Like

      2. Thanks, Lola. I’m not aware of any followers I’ve lost, but I trek blindly these days. It’s likely a safe bet that nobody reads my posts anymore, so I’m probably alright 😉 . You know, odds are we disagree on a lot of things, but I do have admiration for the way you live your life; or at least the way it would appear that you live your life. Politics make for boring conversation, and religion is ubiquitary; experiencing life, and relaying those experiences to others is a most endearing trait.
        I suppose this is true because most folks never experience life; instead, they enjoy living vicariously through people who do. I’m sure you know what I mean. As an aside, do you ever get tired of that?

        I digress. My point isn’t that religion and politics aren’t important, and shouldn’t be key issues, only that there are so many other things that I can choose to enjoy or admire about someone. Perhaps we do agree there.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

