What Has Happened to Freshly Pressed?

 

There really must exist an unspoken rule making a hellish doomsday of any moment when an unsuspecting blogger treads upon the uncharted territory hereby know as the act of critiquing/questioning/challenging the wisdom of the all glorious Freshly Pressed Search Committee (A.k.a. the lady who coordinates the site’s front page). I say this only because I simply have never seen it done. You are cautiously invited to come along with me while I embark on this business of excoriating the gods of WordPress. That’s right WordPress, I’m knocking on the editor’s door and I’ve got a bone!

 

 

the above statement was not intended as a threat of violence nor was it meant to be perceived as an actual event.

 

 

 

Getting on with it then, I believe that If I were to be offered a spot on tomorrow’s edition of “Freshly Pressed”, I would be inclined to disrespectfully decline. Beyond that, it is within proper reason that, following such an offer, I may even burn whatever article was being considered for the much coveted publicity. You see, I find that I fervently enjoy my position down here – however undeserved – among what I’ve found to be the best of WordPress. And by best, I am speaking of the true artists of the lens and the spoken word who labor, perhaps not tirelessly, but indeed endlessly to bring about so many rather obscure pockets of pure joy. Pockets which, once discovered, could bring about a remarkable sense of enlightenment and personal growth far beyond the apparent comprehension of the coxes whom direct the ebb and flow of the Freshly Pressed page. I find it most unfortunate that these true artists of whom I speak will never be found by the masses as they seem to hover on an esoteric plain above the childlike radar of the scoundrels of the Freshly Pressed search committee.

There have been people on this site who have so eloquently penned their thoughts that they have helped me to see that people who don’t necessarily think like me may, in fact, still manage to think… And think quite brilliantly at that.

There are people on this site whose words I read faithfully late at night, when the glamor and buzz of the day have ended and I find myself alone, tucked into a dim hotel room, and homesick for my family. And it is their words that sooth my mind and shove the enclosing walls back to their respective positions.

Some people on this site have taken pictures that are so original and indeed spiritual that one’s viewing of them can be likened to his first time seeing with his own eyes a new landscape, or a massive storm, and in that moment he feels as if his mind has explored an entire new region within itself.

How shameful is it that the page allegedly containing “the best of WordPress” fails to deliver on its promises, and frequently fails to expose its readers to talent such as what I’ve referenced above; instead, on Freshly Pressed, we are bombarded with stories regarding such foolishness as the following:

 

  • How to build a ceiling high cat toy using only items found in your pantry
  • Girl with a hundred pictures of herself begging to be freshly pressed
  • One blurry, random picture of an unremarkable thing with no caption

 

I could have continued, and had even begun to, but I might have become a little too specific with my indignation. Now, I do find it important and necessary to state here that I have occasionally witnessed a wonderful post flying across the Freshly Pressed headlines. Unfortunately, these sitings are all too seldom and more often than not the contents of Freshly Pressed remain insufferable. Another unfortunate, and rather alarming trend that I’m seeing is the tendency by more and more parasitic “regulars” to always offer theirΒ  beguiling comments. You know the ones. These people consistently display a flagrantly specious enthusiasm on the subject of everything from whether crustaceans do or do not possess the ability to see in color to how to rebuild an old Johnson boat motor. This obsessive commenting is clearly for the purpose of advertisement, and would not be tolerated on my blog.

 

I’ll end with a challenge and a salute. I challenge you to not get caught up in the foolish game of pretending to see merit in mere silliness only for the purpose of stimulating your own website. To do this only serves to make the Freshly Pressed Search Committee feel that they are succeeding in their job mission when they are clearly not.

And finally, to those truly talented and committed artists on WordPress, I salute you. I might have even mentioned you specifically had I taken the time to gather all of your permission; However, you know who you are. Again thank you and rest assured that you are the best in the eyes of those fortunate enough to stumble across your pages.

 

Nathan Gray

 

110 thoughts on “What Has Happened to Freshly Pressed?

  1. Yes! You are right. I haven’t spent much time checking out Freshly Pressed, and now that I think about it, the reason becomes clear. Much of what is Freshly Pressed seems completely irrelevant to me. That said, one of my favorite bloggers, Charles, from Mostly Bright Ideas, was caught up in the Freshly Pressed frenzy. From watching what he went through in the aftermath of that, I realized I don’t really want to end up on those illustrious pages either. How in the world would I ever respond intelligently and kindly to hundreds of comments….per day!

    I live a rather sheltered blog life here in the outer reaches of WordPress. I’ve been blessed by only kind readers and respectful commenters. I often push the envelope of what I think I believe. My posts are sometimes a venture into worlds I know little about. They are explorations. It is gratifying that my readers seem to understand this and they treat my ignorance with grace and my curiosity with respect.

    And I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the fine quality of writing that surrounds me. I may be small, but I’m satisfied.

    Like

    1. And there you have it. You’ve once again managed to add just the right thoughts to fill in the missing paragraph. Thanks for stopping by. As always I consider it an honor for you to read my blog. I’m a true fan of your work. Not meaning to fawn, but when you write a book, I would love to have a signed first edition! :^)

      Like

  2. Well, I certainly have to agree with you on some levels, here. I, too, have difficulty finding merit in some of what is Freshly Pressed (i.e. the blurry photos without captions, etc.), but I do believe that it does speak to some people. Since I am not a photographer, I would not appreciate a photo like that as I am unsure of the amount of time and effort one would have to put in in order to actually get that photo.

    Quite often, I do find that some very entertaining and/or moving posts are Freshly Pressed, and I’m always happy to see that. I will say, however, that sometimes I wonder why so many photo-blogs are FP’d instead of blogs that are so eloquently written (such as yours).

    Very interesting post, Dinkerson! I hope more people read it…perhaps when it’s FP’d. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. Yes, I think that some small number of people will find merit in just about anything that is freshly pressed. But, market to the masses for crying out loud. FP is supposed to contain “the best of WordPress”, and I believe that a photo of a guy standing in the street, wearing a flannel shirt with a caption underneath that describes what he’s wearing; as well as a step by step manual on how to build an eight foot tall cat tree are an epic failure to bring out the best and also an epic failure to pique the interest of the masses.

      I’m even okay with the photo blogs – however over pressed – as long as they deliver some impact and exhibit a clear talent, or something of the nature, on the part of the blogger.

      Ltms… What a rant huh?

      Thanks for stopping by, PCC. It’s always a pleasant surprise and a real pleasure!
      Your blog is great. Really a lot of fun!

      Like

      1. Yeah, I didn’t get the flannel shirt either…I’m sure there is some deep meaning behind it, but I didn’t get it. Glad I’m not the only one. πŸ˜‰

        By the way, I think your rant is justified! Keep writing what you’re thinking because I’m sure you’ll find MANY others out there who agree with you.

        Like

  3. I’m a little afraid I may burst into flames commenting on this post . . . however, I agree with you and take regular shots at the WordPress gods myself. I never expected to be “pressed.” I break all the rules on “how to get Freshly Pressed.” I use inappropriate language and talk about inappropriate subjects, so imagine my surprise this morning. All I can figure is that they didn’t look at the rest of my blog.

    So, us WordPress bottom feeders had a party today and I’m glad you came.

    By the way, I really do agree with you on this, enjoyed reading it, and hope to the WordPress gods I’m not one of the Freshly Pressed drones you so aptly described.

    Like

    1. I’m so glad that you found time to drop by. How funny that you finally got freshly pressed with a post in which you promised to respond to every comment with a comment on your blog and theirs. Darn the luck!
      As of right now, you’re sitting at four-hundred and something, so you may be at it a while longer πŸ™‚
      Your blog is great, by the way. I plan on dropping by again as soon as things slow down a little for you. You’ve a new dedicated follower here.

      Like

    1. Arjun, I’ve removed the back link to your blog. You are clearly a parasitic spammer and I’ve scolded you once before for lurking around my blog. Had you actually read this post you would’ve found, in the last paragraph, that I was referring to leeches like yourself when I said that people shouldn’t and wouldn’t be allowed to comment for the purpose of advertisement on my blog. My patience is thin with you, and I will continue to point out your deceptive incentives each time you visit my blog.

      I know this is harsh, but you are kind of poking the bear here by doing exactly what I’m ranting about not wanting people to do! I see you leaving this exact comment on everybody else’s blog pages. Read first, Arjun, then comment. Kind of like getting the facts before you speak. Read the post before you comment.

      Like

      1. Hurrah for having the COURAGE to say this, Dinkerson! You are my new hero! I’ve seen many people like this around WordPress, including many “like” spammers, and many commercial “like” spammers, many of whom I have reported to WordPress (didn’t expect them to give a *bleep* or do any *bleeping* thing about it), and lo and behold, some time later, they were SHUT DOWN!!!!!! So I applaud you for having the courage to do this, to say this, to take a stand like this! Finally! Someone with the COURAGE to stand UP to these people, and to not be afraid to do so! BRAVO! Bravo! Bravo! A thousand times over. I applaud you, Dinkerson. I applaud you. I have also noticed many “Freshly Pressed” spammers, like you have, including one in particular who is notorious for commenting on just about every single freaking freshly pressed post just as you said above…I won’t name them here, but I used to see them everywhere. Not that I check freshly pressed much anymore, except for fiction posts, or whatever happens to catch my eye that day, if anything. I agree with you wholeheartedly on this post. Bravo. Bra-vo.

        Like

      2. So you’re pickin’ up what I’m putting down, huh? I’ve seen the “like” spammers as well as the FP page spammers. It’s been a while since I’ve poked around much on the FP page, but I remember certain faces showing up with a comment and a like on every post. I mean, damn well every post! I went to visit one of the ladies who I saw tended to do this the most. I figured if she was that desperate to be read, then I’d give it a go. I read her blog and commented… and I never heard a word from her. I suppose she was only interested in having much to do with the FP famous. I thought girls like that only existed in high school. Damn.

        Well, thanks for the visit πŸ™‚
        It’s been a pleasure reading your comments. I’ve been focusing more on my photography blog, so this blog hasn’t seen this much action in quite some time πŸ˜‰

        Like

      3. By the way, I just realized that you were responding to what I said to old Arjun. πŸ™‚

        The comments management section doesn’t really make those things clear.
        Lol. I had forgotten all about saying this to him. Poor guy. Must’ve learned his lesson though. πŸ˜‰

        Like

  4. I’ve never appeared (to my knowledge) on FP, nor have I really thought about it much. I couldn’t tell you the last time I even looked at it. I just put out my silly words, try to stay authentic, avoid foolish consistency, and somehow my readership keeps growing one person at a time. I also have found wonderful bloggy friends whose writing I enjoy very much (such as the above Miss D), but again not by looking at FP.

    I’m thankful that you have joined them, Nathan.

    Like

    1. Hey there MisplacedBoy. Way to build it up one brick at a time. After reading your blog, it’s no wonder they all keep coming back for more. You’re always welcome here, and thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  5. Wow! Tell us how you really feel, why don’t ya? It really is a mystery why/how some articles get chose for Freshly Pressed.

    Personally, I love the concept and was thrilled when one my own posts was featured on Freshly Pressed..

    A little more transparency into the process might ease some of your concerns.

    Like

  6. Yeah, I remember your post showing up on the FP page. I remember it because I enjoyed it. Many times I too have wondered what kind of people the used car lots are marketing to when they have one of their “Craaaaaazy Monkey Sales!!”
    Really, who hears that on the radio and makes the assumption that this simply must be too important of an event to miss? What kind of guy, upon hearing this kind of ad, looks over at his wife and says, “Oooooh. They’re having a crazy monkey sale. We’ve gotta go there. Hell, they may even be giving out free bananas”?
    Getting back to the point of this post and responding to your comment. I agree with you and second your appreciation of the concept of Freshly Pressed. It’s the choice of content that bores me. Again, not 100% of the time, but indeed the vast majority of the time I tend to think that very little thought or research went into what is going on the page.
    And yeah… A li,ttle transparency probably would help to shed some light on how The FP Committee arrives at some of their choices.
    Thanks for dropping by man. And the link to your FP’d post is welcome and even appreciated on my page.

    Like

  7. “How to build a ceiling high cat toy using only items found in your pantry”

    I would read that.

    But on a more serious note, I’m inclined to neither agree nor disagree. I think WordPress does a decent job… they get a lot of stuff right (except for me, I’m sure there were better movie articles to be found). But it’s true that some bloggers never get the recognition they deserve.

    I look through them everyday, and I read the titles that jump out at me.

    Like

    1. Well buddy, I wish I could say that I didn’t read that post. But, I suppose you may be right. Who could resist the chance to at least brush up on the how to’s of building an imposing cat tree out of saltine cracker boxes and Mr. Pringles jars, if only for the sake of creating an excuse to go and browse the pantry?
      As for your serious note, I’m tracking with you. After all you’re in an odd spot here having just been FP’d. Congrats and good job. That post has been wildly popular.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  8. Great post. I’ve often wondered about who gets selected, noting that many of the posts seemed mediocre to me. Oh, and also, looks like your readers are much better behaved than mine πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. Thank you! And I’m glad you stopped by.
      I imagine that your readers may typically be well behaved folks. There is a phenomenon happening on your site. Your readers seem to be forming something of a cyber mob. And it’s forming in a very similar fashion to how a typical street mob is formed. A few opinions got thrown around, others joined in – regardless of any personal attachment to the issue -, some people mysteriously got emotionally involved, then somebody threw a rock and hell broke loose.
      Good luck dealing with it all. I’m sure that aside from the uncomfortableness from the mob, you are enjoying the readers who can simply have fun with your post and comment accordingly.

      Like

  9. What a great post. When I first starting writing here at the end of October, one of the FP articles was called “Why I Like Breakfast”. Now, I write witty humor/satire and seeing an article like that almost made me want to throw up in my mouth. I mean, talk about a snorefest. And of course, as you point out, there were a myriad of people commenting about what a great post it was and offering their own stories of their greatest breakfast ever. I mean, if I wanted to let people know why I love breakfast, I could sum it up in 2 words: Pop Tarts. But somehow, the powers that be at WP seem to think that crap has broad appeal. I don’t get it.

    Like

  10. Hey Rob.

    You know, when I posted this, I never thought that anyone would comment. I assumed that people wouldn’t want their names on something so… so, scandalous.
    I couldn’t be more happy to have been so wrong. Not that I have 500 comments here, but this is big for me.

    And the breakfast thing. Really? I actually grimaced a little bit when I read about that one.

    What do you say we form an accord here on WordPress, Rob? Or really more of a minority group (those have to be heard. It’s in The Constitution) of low priority but quite zealous bloggers who demand that a particular standard be met by the FP gods? Our slogan will be something like,”Don’t Put Crap on FP, Because Crap is Wack”. Or something like that?

    Let’s talk about it.

    Like

  11. I think the WordPress minions who select Freshly Pressed posts are simply trying to fill the space – with anything!
    Sometimes they get it right, and sometimes.. well, you’ve already said it.

    Like

  12. This was great. I have a post idea floating around my head about the crappy Freshly Pressed page myself. You are right on target with this. My favorite FP posts are the ones that make it with the title “I Can’t Believe I Was Freshly Pressed.” WTF?!?!

    Like

    1. I’m glad that you agree. I’m prone to think that the problem with the FP gods is very simply that they don’t like to read, and are trying to figure a way out of having to. I’m seeing more and more encouragements to post pictures and short lists, rather than those boring stories that people would have to… I don’t know, read.
      I hope you do post something on the matter. I look forward to reading it πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. I’ve all but stopped reading Freshly Pressed. It’s just a depressing daily reminder that they don’t respect fiction writers.

    I’m still mad about the “what white girls do on Facebook” list.

    Like

    1. Yes, you’re right. And also a depressing reminder that the FP gods only like to look at pictures. Reminds my of my four year old when he sees me reading a book and exclaims, “Where are all the pictures!!!”
      I’m not familiar with the post that you mentioned. Frustrating was it?
      Thanks so much for stopping by. I appreciate your time and your thoughts.

      Like

      1. The title was both race and gender insensitive. It was a list of totally inane things like posting pictures of your feet, or updating your status every 5 minutes with what you’re doing now. I’ve never done a single thing on it. I admit that people do stupid things like that on Facebook. It has nothing to do with being white or being a girl.

        Like

  14. and of course I happen upon this page after a comment of yours on mine about the f***ing “velcro kitty” i put up. I make dumb short posts like this when I don’t have time to deliver something I find intellectually humorous and as always these mini bait posts turn out to be the most viewed (this recent one has gained one of the highest running totals over a 5 day period of anything I’ve had…. probably b/c it had a cat in it). However, it’s the posts I enjoy the most, ones that have some depth to them, are the ones that never seem to gain any audience. I label my humor and writing style as Atypical (in relation to most of the content found within the Humor tag… such as out-of-place recipes from time to time), but as I like to convince myself, it’s probably more to do with people actually have to read a few paragraphs.

    There have been a few humor blogs that have managed to garner a Freshly Pressed spot and deserve it like http://maximumwage.wordpress.com/ but few and far between.

    Like

    1. Ha ha! Isn’t it funny how that works? You work so hard to post worthwhile information for your readers and they don’t come. Then, when you post something that you would label a “dumb short post” people flock to it like kittens to velcro!
      Thanks for dropping by man, and I promise to come back and read some of your more respectable posts.

      Like

      1. yep, just as i thought. I write something slightly longer, still purposefully sarcastically-dry, but at least in the style I’ve made my own andddd barely any views. maybe i should link another cat picture on it. i’m still trying to experiment with publishing time-of-the-day to figure out if there’s trends in views, as well as which day things are posted on

        Like

      2. I have a couple of thoughts. First, I’ve found that Sundays and Wednesdays are terrible days to post. Friday mornings work best for me if I can think to do it. If you look at how to set up your email alerts for blogs you follow, the weekly alert can only be set for Monday. So that may be something to think about.

        I think that there are a couple of keys to the level of traffic that you are shooting for. The first key is learning your readers and giving them what they want without losing your personal touch or your personal principals.

        The second is networking. Read a lot of posts and, if you enjoy something you read, drop the author a personal note letting them know. Of course I’m not talking about running all over wordpress posting comments on every possible page, whether or not you even found the post interesting. I find that behavior to be most insufferable. Hook seems to have networking down to an art. He’s never invasive and he doesn’t come across as an attention getter. He just reads a lot and comments as he sees fit.

        I tried to properly post a link to Hook’s site, but it just isn’t happening right now. So here is the link to his site http://www.youvebeenhooked.wordpress.com

        Like

      3. (since it forbades me from replying to your last reply i guess it’ll have to look out of sequence)
        the monday email remind is interesting. I once thought Sundays would be great days because people wouldn’t be busy and would have more time to lethargically read. Originally I only posted after work hours thinking that people would actually be doing their work during the day, and reading when they’re off at home…. I think I may have been wrong. I’m still in debate about this though, and am now currently experimenting with releasing posts at about 9am instead of noontime (when people could read on lunch breaks) because noon posts get pushed quickly back due to everyone else posting.

        As for commenting on every blog and networking, sometimes I’m a crook, sometimes I’m not. Sometimes I’ll just click through blog after blog so that that author gets a curious WP link back to my blog on their site stats like the crafty asshole I may be… sometimes. For the majority, I’ll generally skim random blogs on the Topics pages, and if seem interesting actually go back and read it. I also generally try not to comment for the sake of appearing on everyone’s blog (cough most of the time) and won’t typically comment unless some unique thought actually came to my head after reading

        Like

      4. Let me know what your research reveals.

        If I enjoy what I read on a site, I typically will comment in order to drop a hint for the author that I’m there, It’s me, and I liked what they had to say. That way I don’t lie awake at night thinking of all these poor authors pulling their hair out and screaming “DEAR GOD!!! who were all these VIEWS from!!”.
        Not that that happens… but it might.

        Like

  15. I will have to totally agree! Unless of course I get Freshly Pressed. Then I will disagree and say that it was well deserved. Because I secretly need accolades. Secretly? I need accolades period. I’m a needy person. But I didn’t see the how to build a cat toy, that would’ve been….interesting and maybe useful since I have a cat. I DID see the White Girls on Facebook and have to say I was entertained by it. Only because, I am a white girl, I am on Facebook and all my white friends on Facebook did what that author described. So it was funny.
    I admire your honesty and poignancy. It looks like you know how to make lemonade out of lemons.
    P.S. I would love to know the criteria of being Freshly Pressed- if you ever find out- post on that please.
    Also- there’s like half a million posts everyday, can you imagine all that crap they have to read through??
    Oh, and one more thing- some of these ‘tags’ are tiresome too. People tag everything under life and local. What’s local? Local to who?
    I wish there were more interesting tags, so I keep tagging using words like, ‘satire’, ‘grievances’, ‘Tina Fey’, hoping that more will do the same and then they’ll be easier to find and we won’t keep having tags like, ‘entertainment’ where we read over and over what Beyonce named her baby.

    Like

    1. Funny you should make the comment about lemons. My mood, when I wrote this, was such that I could have made lemons out of Reese’s.
      I agree with you, and I believe Ammon mentioned also, that it would be helpful to better understand the criteria for the FP page. Clearly the FP gods would not have time to read everything, thus one would think they must have some sort of filter; however, more often it seems that they simply close their eyes and point.
      You’re right that perhaps you, as well as others, might have found the cat toy story interesting, but keep in mind that the front page is supposed to contain a balanced dose of the best of wordpress. That means the best of all genres, not just some photo blogs – some containing no more than a self taken photo a a guy wearing a grey, flannel shirt – and a few “what to avoid”, “how to cook this”, “how to build that” lists.

      Like

    2. blondgirl, yah those interesting tags may not help as much for WP searches, HOWEVER they should definitely help for search engine results so be sure to keep designating a few meaningful keyword tags to your posts so that those outside of WP can find your site.

      and on criteria, i even wonder what exactly the criteria is on the tag Topics pages. when I first started I never had my posts showing up under whatever topic i tagged but now it’ll always be on there somewhere…. dunno where the change came. for that matter, sometimes, especially on Humor, there will be a few posts that remain the top links for a few days at a time while all the ones past that continue to get pushed back (assuming pushed either a) b/c nobody’s viewing them or b) there are newer posts that are better than ours ??)

      Like

  16. I thought since you were so courteous not to single out posts, I’d just let the Freshly Pressed crew do it for us, that way no one is being picked on. πŸ™‚ Here is what Freshly Pressed looked like this morning…

    Kyrgyzstan – Features (not really… personal photos taken IN Kyrgyzstan… keyword photos)
    The 20th marathon pressed in the last couple of months (done clicking those)
    Another blog about artwork that does not belong to the blogger
    Top 10 favorite TV characters (done clicking these too)
    Volcano boarding (actually kind of a cool idea but really just an excuse for more photos)
    Toronto rediscovered (it was lost due to the Seattle press a few days ago… more photos)
    Grainy family photos of a birthday party (I think you had to be there)
    Top 40 albums (see above)
    A gadgets fair (more photos)
    A black dress (more photos)
    Motorbikes in the Himalayas (more photos)
    Asparagus feta quiche (I clicked Like, but I made my own spinach and feta quiche last night)
    Tokyo in winter (more photos)

    I’ll stop there, but it keeps going. And there you have it! Absolutely zero literature in the “best of 364,451 bloggers!”

    Like

    1. Heaven help us. How convenient that the FP gods have communicated, themselves, the things which you and I could not. Lol! I’m so glad you posted this. Perhaps this way, if they improve, we can always refer back to this list to compare. Not that the contents of this list are necessarily bad. I’d not tell it if I thought so πŸ˜‰
      After reading some of your work, I’m excited to continue. And I really think that many wordpress readers are missing out on a great experience because your site has not been featured on the FP page.

      Like

      1. Anne, what say you that we start an Occupy WordPress haha (I still have no idea behind what-was-once the idea behind Occupy Wallstreet, but lets use it because its trendy) and demand that Freshly Pressed actually start featuring articles/blogs/posts that, on average, feature more words than pictures. There are only a select, select few blogs that I am entirely content with their image theme… b/c it’s drawn cartoons representing their story, not photographs (see: http://eyelaugh.wordpress.com/).

        Like

      2. Wow, thank you, Nathan! I think it’s only fair to say that after I posted this, I went back and found two FPs that were literature, one of which, The Crayon Fascist, I loved!

        Occupy WordPress sounds like a great name for a post, Geoff! Haha, it might even get Freshly Pressed! An actual movement sounds like it would die, ignored for it’s failure to present a unified voice.

        Like

      3. Anne, good reminder that, of course, not all FP posts are poor quality. They do inadvertently post some pleasant reading from time to time.

        FB-Genious, I hope that you run with this new idea. As Anne mentioned, I sense the makings of a great post!

        Like

      4. Actually, I may leave this up to Anne if she feels the urge. I don’t have the aggressiveness in me as of yet to this particular subject other that what I’ve already written here on all my comments on this post (which truth be told, is already more writing than the avg FP post as she’s pointed out)

        Like

  17. Love your background.

    Wow, quite a protest! I can’t comment really because I never click on Freshly Pressed. I did when I first started blogging – late last year – but I prefer to roam the tags when I’m in the mood for a read. I get more satisfaction by that. But if it’s true there was an article ‘Why I like breakfast’, I’ve got to say – I’m stunned!

    Like

    1. Thanks. I actually put a lot of thought into this layout. I’m glad you noticed πŸ™‚

      Yes, I believe that these examples are all true. Even the reader’s comments contain no embellishment… at least non of which I’m aware.

      I’m so glad that you’ve stopped by again. I haven’t had much free time to read your work, but I really am looking forward to doing so.

      Like

  18. Hi Dinkerson/Nathan – I so totally love the Sneetches! Honestly, Dr Seuess had something going on.

    Thank you so, so much for reading my honesty, which I can tell you have been following this day. And so of course I couldn’t resist but to peek in on what YOU feel this day πŸ™‚

    Firstly, I don’t know how you handle that many comments – that’s too much for ME!! So well done, because my hands would tire (though my mind not) – I would need an assistant to take down dictation of what I had to reply!!!

    SORRY – MY SON JUST WALED IN. CANNOT CONTINUE…

    Like

  19. Hey Noeleen. Feel free to call me Nathan. I think I’ve signed some of my posts with my real name, thus the cat’s out of the bag.
    Their has been a lot of public opinion expressed on this page. I typically try to keep a slightly lower profile in order to achieve a sense of “community” on my site, rather than a place where strangers can come to rant. This way I can reply thoughtfully rather than with a simple “thank you”. I’m sure you understand.

    That being said, the exposure is kind of exciting, and the comments are always fun.

    Thanks for stopping in again.

    Like

  20. I have had a beef with Freshly Pressed for some time. It’s not the ‘best of…’; in fact, to me it seems computer generated. Posts picked at random. I saw one a while back that was just some guy’s complaining about a bee being on the bus. It was no more than three paragraphs and just awful. It was then that I really stopped even paying attention. There is so much better writing and blogging out there than what is showing up on that page.

    Love this post – I feel very much the same.

    Like

    1. Hello Heather.

      Oh no! Not the old “bee on a bus” rerun. Of course, I’m sure we’ve both seen worse. I know I have, and could certainly write a new rant on this subject every week at least!

      By the way, I checked out your blog (curious to know how you found me ;-), and I gotta tell you, I really like your writing style.

      Thanks so much for visiting me, and you’re welcome back anytime!

      Like

  21. Heather’s comment about FP selections seeming to be computer generated and random is very similar to my own conclusions about the content selected for FP. I seldom bother to read FP anymore. Once in a while I’ve seen a really excellent post on FP, but this is so rare that it almost seems accidental.

    Like

    1. Hi there Chris.

      Seems like I’ve seen you around. I’m glad you visited!

      Do you suppose that there could be some way to make the WP gods aware that we’re as mad as hell, and we’re not going to take it anymore?
      If you have any ideas, do tell.

      Good to see you here. And thanks for adding your sound thoughts to this discussion. πŸ™‚

      Like

  22. Almost everyday I want to come back here and make fun of a post that was featured, but then I feel like it could be really mean and negative, and maybe not a good use of energy. Oh wait, I bet people would love that then! Or, I’ve thought it would be great to have a version of Freshly Pressed where we showcase the really bad blogs– kind of like the Razzies for movies. Recently there was one on yogurt at the grocery store that went nowhere– many of these have no point. Puh-lease, spare us!

    Like

    1. Lol! “Not a good use of energy? Would be a dull waste of time? Let’s get it up on the FP page!” they’d say.

      I find myself wanting to start a whole new blog where everybody can drop by to vent about the current FP line up. Waste of time or no, I’d be on it everyday!

      Like

  23. Oh how I applaud you for this! I have experienced the exact same dilemma! FP sometimes has some of the most lame offerings. I’m like “Whaaaa?” One time there was a post lamenting the disappearance of the graffiti drawing of a woman on a building in Europe. The comment thread expressed great lament, too, that this precious art was gone, sandblasted into oblivion. After digesting more than my fair share of European graffiti and this thread I couldn’t hold back. And when I stated my opinion that I felt much of those ancient buildings were being defaced by too much graffiti and their priceless art thus tampered I waited for the attacks. Quite the contrary. The thread turned to echoing mine. I was a bit shocked but it made me see that FP is not all it’s cracked up to be.
    And I agree with you. There are so many other writers and artists out there who pour themselves into their work and never get the recognition deserved.
    Getting FP used to be a goal of mine but I’m so happy with my faithful readers, they’ve become the greatest honor I could have.

    Like

    1. Awesome comment πŸ™‚

      Wow, your statement actually changed the direction of the comments, huh?
      Lol, when I don’t hold my tongue, I tend to go too far and cause some hate. That’s why I do try to stay off the FP page.
      That being said, I’ve had a weak moments lately πŸ˜‰

      I suspect that, if one really wants to get on the FP page, he should just post about his gay two year old. Or perhaps post about the advantages of being a gender neutral parent.
      Maybe I could even become a stay at home dad/mom and complain about how other mommies don’t let me drink tea with them. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for your brilliant comment. I’m glad that you stopped by.

      Like

      1. Thanks for the follow, Nathan, I’m honored. Now I feel all this freaking pressure (!) (aa! πŸ˜† ) to write so well so I don’t disappoint you…SIGH… 😦 I’m replying here because there’s no option to reply to your previous replies to my comments here. Yeah.

        Like

      2. Its kind of blocking me from writing anything, you know? Hm. Pressure! Heh. πŸ™‚ Also, I want to get published somewhere other than my blog…Do you have any advice? Grateful for anything you may have to offer in that regard…

        Like

      3. Lol. πŸ™‚

        I’m anything but a pious and demanding reader. Hell, I climb towers for a living! Gladly a far cry from Academe.

        You know, if I had any connections within the publishing world, I’d happily make them available to you. I don’t know any publishers who aren’t a bit arrogant. No advice here.
        I’m just a guy who occasionally pours a glass of brandy… and writes. πŸ™‚

        Like

      4. Really well too. You’re one of the most intelligent thoughtful people I know here on WordPress, and that’s saying a lot. I don’t know many people like you here. Well, Rangewriter… few others…You’re one of the finest, and I’m really lucky to have come across you.

        I put out some stuff long time ago (self-published) but I think its a piece of shit, so haven’t promoted it. I want to get published for real, you know? SIGH. 😦 Yeah.

        There, if you wanna take a look. No guarantees. Its not my best stuff (in terms of formatting, looking like a real book) and it doesn’t include all my stuff and I’ve written a lot of stuff since then that’s not in there, and yeah. I dunno what I’m saying anymore. Better shut up now. I just really really wanna be published, you know? Walk into a bookstore and see my book there…I would be over the moon. Yeah.

        http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/ScriptorObscura2201

        Like

    2. “There are so many other writers and artists out there who pour themselves into their work and never get the recognition deserved.”

      I second that. And third it. And fourth it. And fifth it too.

      Like

      1. I’m replying here because it won’t let me reply to your comment above…I’d be happy to sign a copy for you (!! :shock:…heh… !!…) if there were a way to do it…I don’t think there is though…When you order it just sends it directly to you, so I’d never get to touch your copy unless you mailed it to me and I mailed it back, and I’m not really comfortable giving out my address like that…so I dunno…I could sign it electronically, if you really wanted, though I dunno how that would work…lol…I dunno why you’d really want me to sign it though, I’m not a celebrity…signature’s not worth anything…You’re really nice to say these things, though, and to express an interest in buying my books. Its so kind of you…I’ve only sold two copies before, all to one person…Only one person has ever bought any of my books at all since they were put out there couple years ago…this guy, and he says he liked them…I dunno… http://joe2poetry.wordpress.com/ Dunno what he’d say about them now, though! You’re a nice guy, Nathan. Thanks. πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. I’d be happy to hear what you thought of them if/when you ever do buy them…honored to hear your feedback, see what you have to say. Again, I really appreciate your interest. πŸ™‚

        Like

      3. PS: On a slightly unrelated note, I don’t know if you might be interested in entering the Trifecta writing challenge? I think you should, if you’re interested and you have the time one day…You’d raise the quality of the entries by a mile.

        http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com

        They put out a prompt every Monday and Friday at 9:00AM Eastern.

        Like

      4. This invitation is very nice of you, but I’ve not been writing much lately; instead, I’ve taken up photography. It may be that I’m no good at it, but I’ve grown quite passionate about this new hobby.
        Of course, I do write a little here and there, but I spend most of my alone time editing photos. πŸ™‚
        Feel free to check out my photo blog sometime. There’s a link on my home page, over on the right.
        Thanks again, for the invitation. I’ve very much enjoyed our exchanges over the past few days.

        Like

  24. Heya Nathan,

    Wanted to comment on your latest (today is 1.1.2013 in Melbourne, Australia) but ya got none !

    This is what I wish for you :

    Let go Freshly Pressed as it’s a “thing” The WordPress People have made to give credence, to whom they chance by, that they reckon deserve credence.

    There is, and always will be, other blogs that deserve credence. They may be you, they may be not (according to them).

    Yet Nathan, you have in your power, in your hands, to make a blog expressing WHAT YOU WANT TO SAY. Forget the ‘freshly pressed’ and trending and whatevs. Say what you want to say throughout 2013.

    I truly, truly wish you the best.

    Online success is DEFINITELY an illusion…

    Like

    1. Thanks, Noeleen. I believe that was good advice; it was certainly a beautiful comment, and not to mention, a well spoken encouragement.
      Always have been thrilled to have you as a reader.

      Here’s to 2013! May we relish its good days and grow with the bad.

      Like

    2. Yeah. What she said. Although it stings, you know…You put all this work in, all this EFFORT, and then what. Nothing…And mediocrity gets celebrated and true talent doesn’t get recognized…Bleeping bleepity bleep, you know… (sorry)…

      Like

      1. What stings the most is knowing that we’re all on here, supporting a blogging site that is run by people who have a disdain for good writing. For them, it’s all about their politics, and their pocket books. I believe that the FP gods should recruited at the library. Just sayin’. πŸ™‚

        Like

  25. So well put! I have found the best blogs simply by following the rule to check out people who come to my blog and seem to enjoy it. I think if they are so…well lets say twisted to be kind, as to enjoy by blog I might enjoy their writing. This is true about 80% of the time. I would hate having to wade through tons of comment spam to find those gems. I am about quality not quantity when it comes to my followers.

    Like

    1. Wineness, “twisted” is simply putting it too kind. I agree about how it would suck to wade through the attention grabbing comments to try to find the ones that express genuine thoughts and interest.
      I hope that you’re not suffering through the same horrible hang over that I am this morning. Brandy, cigars, writing, and more brandy. How does that get out of control?!?

      Like

      1. Sorry to see you’re feeling bad…Wish I knew a good hangover remedy for you…but I don’t drink myself. I hope you feel better soon. Best wishes.

        Like

      2. Thank you, Ma’am. Reading such kind wishes, this morning, helped brighten my day. Really. πŸ™‚
        By principle, I don’t drink to excess. Sometimes, when trying a new drink, one glass of something unfamiliar can have a similar effect to drinking the whole bottle. I suppose there are certain brands that you just learn to avoid. I discovered a new one last night. πŸ˜‰

        Like

      3. I guess that’s the one nice thing about insomnia. I usually sober up before I fall asleep so…no hangover! πŸ˜‰

        Like

  26. ….Hi Dink’…. I was right… your writing is good and you shouldn’t put it to one side…. and as for the whole “freshly pressed” thing… i dip in there every day … I poke about and find stuff that looks kinda interesting but have usually glazed over by the time I get to the third paragraph… spend the next few minutes thinking I must be some sort of unentertainable freak with no taste and the attention span of goldfish…. then I settle back down to the bottom of the pond and find myself,m once again surrounded by the folk who ring my bells with their honesty… why isn’t there a “quirkily” pressed section for those of us who want to be surprised not satisfied by the same ol’ same ol’…. ?? … keep up the good work… which ever part of the blogosphere you choose to inhabit…

    Like

    1. Thank you, Sir. Your opening statement is very kind. And I’m all in if they ever start a “quirkily pressed” zone.
      I tracked right along while you described your thoughts about visiting the FP page. I used to think, like you, that I had sunken into a bit of a vegetable state when it came to appreciating entertainment. These feelings were beaten, however, when I watched Seth Macfarlane hosting the Oscars ceremony. And wouldn’t you know it… the rest of the world says he sucked. Whatever the hell ever.
      At least, as you’ve mentioned, there are the regulars we have, here, to fall back on. Folks like you and many others make it worthwhile for me.
      And if I’ve not said it enough, your blog absolutely rocks. Back in the days when real entertainment had merit, you’d’ve been a rock star. πŸ˜‰
      You know… back in the olden days when Tom Wilson (the cartoonist) and Gary Larson ruled the comics.

      Like

      1. …whoa!… in the same league as Larson…. don’t think so, but thank you…. (Larson would NOT use as many swears as me for a start!….)… I guess it would be nice if we all got a chance to float to the top….once… so keep those fingers crossed….first one to the surface reach back for the others!

        Like

      2. Absolutely, my friend.

        Oh and, I almost qualified my statement and mentioned that I wasn’t putting you in the league with Larson. Like him or hate him, he earned his lofty position. You, as you know, and however good, have not. πŸ™‚
        I was merely using those guys as examples of relics of the better days of entertainment.
        That being said. You have a gift. And one day I should like to think of myself as one of the first to see it. I may even tell stories of it with the boys at the pub.
        “I knew him”, I’ll say, “back when nobody knew anything about him! I kinda made’im what he is today”.
        “He’s never thanked me though”…
        You know, and all that. lol

        Like

  27. It’s very refreshing to read your words and feelings on freshly pressed, and I feel exactly the same way! I was browsing through it the other day, which is rare, I don’t normally bother! I did find a few interesting blogs, but not much. But one thing that was very obvious was the fact that no matter how many hundreds of likes were given for the Freshly Pressed post the likes for the following post had gone back down to between 4 and 8, which is what they were before they were Freshly Pressed, so how did all that publicity help the blog!! Also, I think anyone after a 6 months to a year is still only getting 4 or 8 likes, I would say just doesn’t bother reading other blogs – they deserve their 8 likes! Because I’ve viewed blogs that have had 100 or more likes on every post and the photography or poetry was a little embarrassing to view, but clearly the person behind the blog was liked and very well known!

    Also, I’ve looked at some of the so called Top Posts and they are often the same, not that entertaining to read, often contain a lot of links that suspiciously look like advertising disguised, and have something around 4 likes on all the posts! How does WordPress come to a decide that is a top post, when clearly it’s not being viewed by readers as top!?

    This world is so full of illusions, and I’m not unable to see them, and I’m sure many others can see them too! I’m so pleased you’ve brought this up – it’s annoying me for ages! And I hope I never get Freshly Pressed, I’d be embarrassed if I did. Do you think that you can refuse, a bit like turning down an Oscar award!? πŸ˜†

    By the way – good to find your other blog, I’d forgotten all about this one, took me some time, but I’ve finally arrived! πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. This comment contains some strong statements from a seemingly otherwise congenial sort of girl. πŸ™‚
      And certainly your sentiments have merit and are easily understood. I did, after all, play my part to incite them. πŸ˜‰
      I like what you’ve said about “likes” being a sort of demonstration of not only the likability of one’s work, but also the likability of the person themselves. I tend to assume, the same as you have, about blogs that have been around for a while, but have achieved very little in the way of a following. I suspect that the author must be an introvert or mostly about his own glory than any sort of community. Certainly I wouldn’t, nor would you, say that this is always the correct conclusion. But this evidence is, perhaps, a good indication.

      Although I may occasionally check out the FP page, I think that in all the time that I’ve been on wordpress, I don’t remember ever looking at the Top Posts. I don’t even remember where to find it. πŸ™‚

      Your comment is outstanding. I enjoyed reading it, as I also enjoy reading and viewing your blogs. Your efforts to promulgate (that’s the best word I could think of at the moment) the work of many talented artists here on wordpress, is really something that impresses me. And your choices of what to post are always spot on. πŸ™‚

      Like

    2. By the way, Suzy, I wish that whatever trouble is going on with your “wordmusings” page could be resolved. I know I have trouble with my computer freezing whenever I visit there. It seems like I remember reading that I’m not the only one having such troubles.

      Like

      1. I’ve only had one other person say they couldn’t access the WordMusing blog. I have yet to contact WordPress about it, I’ve had a lot going on in the last few weeks, and there always seems to be someone to leave a comment to or reply to on here and I never get the time to do it!! It’s unlikely that they will be able to do anything about it, as I know someone who had the same problem with a website and it was to with connections not being good enough. If a server fails in one area or another, information has to be redirected and this is often what causes delays in blogs and web pages opening.

        It freezes my computer too, but only for about 10 seconds. Seems a long time to wait though when you get used to everything opening very fast now! It’s fine in the dashboard area, just happens when I’m viewing the actual blog. I normally wait until the loading info in the bottom left hand corner disappears, and its fine once all the connections are loaded. Not much else I can do about it really, unless I change my theme maybe, but there are a lot I don’t like that much or wouldn’t look quite right with the stuff I have on there. I don’t have any problems with the Picture and Art blog, that’s a relief! But thanks for letting me know, it’s good to find out what others experience is when they arrive! πŸ™‚

        Like

  28. lol what a twonk I am, I thought freshly pressed was just the latest uploaded posts,haven’t really looked at it, (so didn’t realise there were ‘chosen ones’) and probably never will now either!! Just found your writey blog (I know, I’m slow!) so will be tagging along for the ride πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Frag! I’m glad to see you here. Girl, you really haven’t paid attention to the FP page. Lol πŸ˜‰

      Clearly, you’re not missing a thing. Just so you know, I seldom write these days. However, I do have some articles on here that I hope you have time to read someday.
      I’ll see you around.

      Like

Leave a Reply

