The Flight of Reason

Title From Paul Johnson's "Intellectuals"

I Would Like to Thank my Mother And… January 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — dinkerson @ 10:35 pm
Tags:

 

In the iconic words of America’s most beloved western hero and friend, John Wayne, upon winning the Oscar award for best actor, “I feel very grateful, and very humbled”.

And Sir Anthony Hopkins, “My god, I can’t believe it. It’s an honor to be here and I’m greatly honored and tremendously moved. And I… Well, God bless you all”.

And Cuba Gooding Jr., “Hallelujah, Oh here we go. I love you man! Everybody involved, I love you oh my god I love you! I’m going to keep going Oh my goodness  *dance* here we are and I love you, I love you, I love you! Oh…everybody!!!”

 

 

Dear Readers, I’ve just recently been informed that I’ve been given – not only once, but twice – the ever elusive VERSATILE BLOGGER AWARD! This is an extraordinary achievement pursued by many, but won by only a small handful of maybe four or five WordPress bloggers. I think you will agree when I suggest that this is a major award.

 

 

In a word, I have arrived :-D

 

 

Aside from God, my mother, and all of my readers, I want to thank Lolabees as well as blondgirl for this achievement, and for giving me the opportunity, for the first time, to approach all of you as a “real blogger”. I shall be monitoring my stats feverishly searching for any readers suspected of finding themselves too lazy to even click on Lolabees’ and blondgirl’s links to find out what they’re all about. These girls rock with style and a kind of “I’m here to stay” flare that renders you without excuse if you don’t at least go and have a look. So as Ben Stiller as Starsky would say, doit K? No, no Doit.

 

And now in keeping with the obligatory acceptance song and dance protocol, here are seven things about myself. Things that you may not know.

 

 

  1. I inspect water towers for a living.
  2. I often wonder why I can’t look away from bright headlights on the road. Am I just looking to see if their brights are on, or does my inner self have antlers?
  3. It wouldn’t necessarily make me sad if Polar Bears became extinct. I’m just sayin’.
  4. If I were a giant, I would step on Priuses for fun. Crunch crunch  :-)
  5. I identify closely with Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.
  6. My wife agrees with #5.
  7. I’m not talking to my wife right now.

 

 

 

And finally for those bloggers who have had the biggest impact. To you I respectfully tip my hat. And I’m only going with five. Well done sluggers.

 

 

Rangewriter. This is a tremendous writer who has impacted me more than anybody on WordPress. Her kindness, patience, and strength of character are clearly evidenced in her writing. This is my favorite post from her and it’s the post that drew me to her blog.

 

 

Lady bon bon.  This is a strange choice for me. But she is a model who writes about her life, giving her readers insight into a world that is far removed from all that is commonplace or familiar. She is also engaging, and happy to respond to questions. I’m glad I found her blog.

 

 

Of course, The Country Man’s Wife. You may have heard me talk about the blogs that I read when I’m in my hotel room and feeling a little alone. Those blogs which work well to take away the blues when I can think of nothing but getting home to my family. Well, her site is at the top of that list. Thanks Country Wife!

 

Anne Schilde. Read just one of her posts and you’ll see why she made the list. Here is my favorite!

 

Antigone’s Clamor. I hate to nominate her once again, but I like the way she thinks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks again everyone! I hope you clicked on, and enjoyed the links that I posted. Please celebrate this momentous occasion along with me by joining in with the party below and rejoicing with lots of comments! Hip hip… You finish it readers. This is your day too!

 

 

 

27 Responses to “I Would Like to Thank my Mother And…”

  1. damn, for you to win such an esteemed award twice with only four or five others that share in your glory, this is impressive.

    wait, shit… i forgot I was given this and a 2nd liebster in the past week and I forgot to write the speeches so far. oops. i need to get on that. maybe if everyone else keeps getting more awards I’ll remember to put up another thank you note

    • dinkerson Says:

      Ha ha! Wait… What? You have this award too? WTF! (why that’s fantastic)

      We really must be good at this.
      Thanks for stopping by man. I too procrastinated for quite a while until I got the second one (I believe at the same time as you).

  2. Antigone's Clamor Says:

    Thank you!!

    Also, I think your sense of humor is great. Loved the list!

  3. Anne Schilde Says:

    Congratulations, and thank you! Wait! What? Just one? That one didn’t make my list of favs. :)
    I’m so totally swamped right now, but I’ll try to get this posted in the next couple of days, and I’ll take a look at your other recommendations. Thanks again!

    • dinkerson Says:

      Lol. Well, how many did you want me to post!? ;-)
      I’m glad that you linked your favorites. I hadn’t noticed the link on your page before, but I can’t wait until I have a little time to peruse them.

    • Anne Schilde Says:

      There isn’t a direct link. It’s one of my tags. I suppose I should probably put the link on my page if I ever expect anyone to actually click it. :)

      Noeleen below is being modest. Click here to see why. She’s right, though. I did think this was really cute!

      • dinkerson Says:

        You should do that.

        After taking a look at her site I gathered that. It’s a real honor to have such talented writers reading my nonsense.
        I hope lots of people click on that link. This is epic!

        Thanks Anne!

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes Says:

    This would have to be about the most interesting of one of these things I’ve seen – and I BACK YOU for choosing Anne Schilde – she’s one helluva story writer.

    Congrats – I just happened by, don’t mind me! …

    • dinkerson Says:

      I just very quickly glanced at your blog. It made me think that this happening by may just be the start of something great :-). I’m so glad you found me, and as soon as I get a chance, I’ll be sure to check out some of your fiction.
      All the best, and good luck with your book this year.

  5. Ammon Says:

    You forgot to thank Tim Tebow. Honestly, I don’t know where any of us would be without him.

    Seriously though, congrats and all that.

    • dinkerson Says:

      Ha ha! How could I forget Tebow? I can only assume that, in some adventitious way, Tebow’s success was truly the impelling force behind my own. Thanks Tebow, and a big thanks to all the Denver Broncos! I couldn’t have done it without you guys.

  6. rangewriter Says:

    Or as Sally would say, “you like me, you like me!”

    I’m so glad you got this award, Dinkerson. And am absolutely dumbounded to find my name at the top of your list, and spoken of with such kindness and generosity.

    What is most wonderful about what we do here, exchanging words and ideas, is that we listen to each other with respect. Disavowing the more prevelant knee-jerk, two-byte, snappish comebacks that we find so often in the media, here we are blessed with a community of people who think and explore. The very fact that you could bestow this tribute upon me…a person with such obviously different beliefs and perspectives…is evidence of your ability to look beyond our differences and see our commonalities, our respective humanity. I am also gratified to find that I can express my oddball ideas without stepping on anyone’s toes and hurting feelings (or at least not yours).

    Now I’m off to explore the other interesting writers you have showcased! Thanks for sharing the spotlight.

  7. The Hook Says:

    Great acceptance post! Forgive your wife, good sir. She means well!

    • dinkerson Says:

      Thanks for the compliment Hook. Good advice too. I forgave her. Of course, I made the mistake of mimicking Ralph Fiennes’ character from Schindler’s List, and saying, “I pardon you”. So now I’m making up the couch and getting ready for a late night of MW3.

  8. lolabees Says:

    Thanks for the lovely shout out! Well done. Isn’t it special to be a part of such an elite group? I, too, will be watching to see if your other readers are as lazy I am ;)

    • dinkerson Says:

      Yes, this new elite standing does make me feel a little lofty and omnipotent. Kind of like Mr. Burns of The Simpsons. Only, all that changes as soon as I turn from my computer :-(

  9. aFrankAngle Says:

    Well done … and thanks for the links as I like checking them out.

  10. lorrelee1970 Says:

    Well done. Congrats to you.

  11. Lady bonbon Says:

    Well that came as a surprise for sure! Thank you really.. for giving me free commercial! :)
    (kidding I am of course honored)

  12. Scriptor Obscura Says:

    I agree with you about Rangewriter. She is excellent.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers